" "

Service Provider Network Maturity Model – The Five Phases

The SDN/NFV maturity in a service provider environment has been divided into five (5) major levels of maturity. The goal is for each phase to have, qualitatively measured, a significant level of improvement from the previous phase and have surpassed a major hurdle. These phases are called NMM1– 5, that is, Network Maturity Model (NMM) Phase 1, 2, 3, 4 and then 5.

The maturity model has been broken down into five (5) key areas to help Service Providers address all facets of their business:

  • Business and Services — How the business and related services need to evolve to take advantage of the benefits of SDN/NFV
  • Technology — How the technology needs to be adopted and deployed in the Service Provider’s environment
  • Organization — How Service Providers need to think about organizing and sponsoring programs to ensure success
  • Governance — How to govern financial and operational components of the new solution
  • Customer — How the customer experience is changed by NFV/SDN adoption

The Five Phases

  • Phase 1: Standalone VNFs — Commercialization of isolated services. Individual VNFs that make up the service may be from separate vendors but are orchestrated by a solution from a single vendor.
  • Phase 2: Common Information Models — VNF vendors characterize and provide network function SLA via VNF descriptors with a common information model.
  • Phase 3: Network Function Auto-Scaling — Network Function Auto-Scaling, or elasticity, is defined as horizontal scalability. As network traffic expands and contracts in real time, Service Providers can re-purpose existing or add hardware or software independently to boost capacity.
  • Phase 4: Federation of SDN — An end-to-end network view enables applications/services that take advantage of the entire network, including tasks such as data centre power optimization and network traffic engineering.
  • Phase 5: Full Service Automation — The analytics loop is closed and able to gather data, analyze data, and program the network appropriately. Applications are able to request services from the network, which will automatically adjust to meet the new service level requested.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top
Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.